About CLAT

In line with the recommendations of the Law commission of India, an act was passed in 1984, to reform legal education in India. Subsequently, National Law Universities were set up in different states, on the lines of IIMs and IITs, to modernize legal education. The first of its kind was National Law School of India University – Bangalore, set up in 1987. As on date, we have 23 (including NLU-Delhi) National Law Universities in our country.

Before the introduction of CLAT, every National Law University conducted their own entrance exams which often overlapped with one another, causing a lot of inconvenience to the student community. CLAT was introduced in the year 2008 to overcome this inconvenience.

Since then CLAT takers count has been growing at around 15% p.a. and crossed 53,000 in 2020.

Know more about IMS law test prep program


Social Media