The International Cricket Council (ICC) recently announced its Test and ODI Teams of 2016. Former Test stalwarts Rahul Dravid, Gary Kirsten and Kumar Sangakkara selected the sides based on players’ performances in the period from September 14, 2015 to September 20, 2016.

Also read: Mithali Raj takes India to Asia Cup Win

Explosive batsman AB de Villiers, wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock, pacer Kagiso Rabada and leg-spinner Imran Tahir are the South African cricketers, while David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Mitchell Starc represent Australia in the ICC ODI team of the year.

ICC Mens – ODI Team of the Year 2016 (in batting order)

S.No Name Country
1 David Warner Australia
2 Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper) South Africa
3 Rohit Sharma India
4 Virat Kohli (Captain) India
5 AB de Villiers South Africa
6 Jos Buttler England
7 Mitchell Marsh Australia
8 Ravindra Jadeja India
9 Mitchell Starc Australia
10 Kagiso Rabada South Africa
11 Sunil Narine West Indies
12 Imran Tahir South Africa

Despite having an 18-match unbeaten streak as India’s Test captain under his belt, Virat Kohli was ignored from the ICC Test Team of the year, even though he was named skipper of the ODI all-star XI. Kohli, who is the vice-captain of India’s ODI and T20 teams, has been named the leader of the 12-member side, which features four South Africans and three Australian cricketers besides one each from England and West Indies.

England’s Alastair Cook has been named the captain of the ICC Test Team – 2016. This is the third time Cook has been appointed captain of the Test side, and the eighth time in nine years that Dale Steyn has been selected.

ICC Mens – Test Team of the Year 2016 (in batting order)

S.No Name Country
1 David Warner Australia
2 Alastair Cook (Captain) England
3 Kane Williamson New Zealand
4 Joe Root England
5 Adam Voges Australia
6 Jonny Bairstow (wicketkeeper) England
7 Ben Stokes England
8 R. Ashwin India
9 Rangana Herath Sri Lanka
10 Mitchell Starc Australia
11 Dale Steyn South Africa
12 Steve Smith Australia


Starc and his teammate Warner are the only two players to have been selected in both the Test and ODI sides in 2016. Besides, South Africa’s Marais Erasmus has been honoured with the David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year, while Pakistan captain, Misbah-ul-Haq won the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award.

Follow us for more.



Leave a Comment